About Us

Lockets in Liam’s Name

I have been campaigning on my Facebook and Instagram the last four days for something very special and just realized that I didn’t share what I was doing ON HERE! With the community that so closely supported us during our time in the hospital. I’m sorry!

Let me back up.

October is Infant and Pregnancy Loss Awareness month. As many of you know, I am a designer with Origami Owl. We sell custom jewelry, and our signature piece is the Living Locket. Our lockets tell stories and part of our mission is to be a force for good. We take that seriously (you’ll see more on that below).

You may remember that for Liam’s 1st birthday, instead of presents we asked for locket donations. Our goal was to donate 20 lockets to our local hospital for moms dealing with pregnancy loss or complications. Well, we donated 37! As lockets were handed out to moms that were going through loss or difficult pregnancies, the word got out. The hospital reached out to me because they wanted to partner with us in serving these moms.

And “Lockets in Liam’s Name” was born.

Since then, we’ve donated close to 100 lockets, and the local Maternal Fetal Medicine just reached out to me again on behalf of the hospital. They wanted to order 50 more lockets! I posted the news on Facebook and shared a little of our story. I was curious to know if anyone would partner with us in donating more lockets to the hospital in Liam’s name.

Well. It hasn’t even been four days, and with the hosptial’s donation and the donations of my friends and family, we have raised $4,187.93. That is enough money to buy 126 lockets. I am blown away and so touched by the big-hearted generosity of so many.

The stories have been so beautiful. I’ll post here what I shared on Facebook this morning (these numbers are already out of date again because the donations keep pouring in):

Last night as I was getting ready to go to bed we had raised about $1,400 and had 41 lockets donated. This morning before 8am we received almost another $1,000 in donations bumping us to 68 lockets. How does that even happen? I’ll tell you how. 16 of them came from other Origami Owl designers (and probably half of the entire 68 have come from my fellow designers). With tears streaming down their cheeks they have donated lockets in memory of their own babies or grand babies that they lost. After sharing her devastating story one said… “So anyway, I guess I imagine what it would have been like to feel support especially by a random act of kindness.” And another said, “I will donate 7…one for each of the little angels that my daughter has lost.” These are my friends. Designers I have gotten to know within this company. Some on my team. Most not. Just sisters in our goal and mission to be a ‪#‎forceforgood‬ And they’re not the only ones. My friends and family have donated from painful places as well. One friend wept as she donated ten lockets after praying about the number she was to send. She has grieved with her son and daughter in law after losing multiple babies. This is a heartbreaking project and yet at the same time so beautiful. October is Pregnancy and Infant Loss Awareness month and because of you and our local hospital, I will be driving nearly 120 lockets to be donated. Thank you.

So my question for you: would you consider donating? The cost per locket (I have donated my commission to make each locket more affordable) is $33.19. If you are interested, you can send the money via PayPal or comment below to make other arrangements. I am trying to place my order by today, so if you’re able to donate this afternoon/evening, great! If donations come in after that, I’ll place another order. Here’s the secure link to send money:

paypal.me/KateMcKenzie

Here’s a shot of some of the lockets we were able to donate last year. My contacts in the office have told me again and again how meaningful these gifts have been to grieving and shocked mothers and fathers. Thank you for considering being a part of this project!

Lockets from Liam

19 thoughts on “Lockets in Liam’s Name”

    1. Mandy, I’m so sorry for your friend’s loss. I will send you an email in the next few days. Thank you so much for reaching out. I’m making a list of all of the emails and contact information I’ve received so I can get back to everyone. Thanks for your patience!

  1. This is so beautiful. What were the steps you took when you first started doing this? I’ve lost three babies due to miscarriage and O2 has truly put me on the path to healing. I really feel called to helping others by doing this as well!

    1. I’m so very sorry for your losses. My heart breaks for you. I’m so glad that O2 has been a part of your healing. I would be happy to send along more information about how I got this program started. I’ll email you in the next few days! Thank you for reaching out!

  2. I was just wondering how I can purchase one of these for myself, I lost a baby daughter at 25.5 weeks gestation in January of 2012 and I wish there would have been a program like this at my local hospital, if you could please let me know if it’s possible to order one for myself I’d truly be greatful

    1. Krystal! I’m so very sorry for your loss. I wish there would have been a program like this for you as well. I’d love to help you put together a locket in memory of your sweet baby girl. I’ll be in touch in the next few days to help you put something together. ❤

  3. Hi these lockets are beautiful my best friend lost her baby girl Mackynzie at 24 weeks in August. I would love to get her one of these so she can always be reminded how much we will always love her beautiful baby girl

    1. Hi, Stephanie. I’m so sorry to hear about Mackynzie. Thank you for reaching out. I would be honored to help you put a locket together for your friend. I will be in touch in the next few days! ❤

  4. This is huge. I read about this through a friend’s FB page. I remember when I miscarried our daughter at 20 weeks in 2001 how I just wanted SOMETHING that I could wear that would help me feel close to my daughter as I grieved. I looked everywhere and ended up purchasing an item that I could engrave her initials. Good for you.

    1. Hi Jill! Thank you for visiting and for your encouraging words. I felt the same way through our losses—our babies were all loved and prayed for and wanted. I’m so glad you were able to find something meaningful to remember your sweet baby girl. I’m truly sorry for your loss.

    1. Hi there. I’m so sorry to hear about your loss. Thank you for stopping by. I would be honored to help you put something together in memory of your baby. I’ll be in touch in the next few days with more information.

  5. I shared the fb story from O2 and a friend inquired about getting one donated for her friend who lost a baby recently. Just wondering if this was an option or if all your donations stay local.

    1. Hi Laura, Thank you so much for reaching out. I’m so sorry to hear about your friend’s friend. Our donations stay local to our hospital here, but I can email you with more information on how to work with your friend to get her friend a locket. I’ll send you an email in the next couple of days so we can work together to ensure that this baby is remembered.

  6. Thank you for your ministry. We lost our angel Jamie on July 3, 2012 and when I had the D&C they gave us a pin with a poem about baby angels and that brought me so much comfort. What you’re doing is such a wonderful thing, and means so much to those mommies and daddies.

    from someone who got just the right gift at just the right time,
    thank you

  7. Hi Kate, I’d also like to place an order. It would be a gift for my sister in law. Please email me for more details. Thanks so much!

  8. Kate,
    I would love to purchase one of these for a friend who lost her son 15 years ago this coming November 1st. We share this reminder always because I had a daughter the day after her son was born. We always celebrate his birthday and passing. I’d love to give her this lovely as an anniversary reminder.
    Many Thanks,
    Felicia

Share your thoughts

