Awesome God, Mars Hill, My Jesus

Worship

“If you start to see everything in your life as worship, you’ll approach it differently.”

I just listened to Mark Driscoll’s sermon on Worship, and it made me realize something…

I have a worship problem.

All the problems that I thought I had are really just symptoms of the real problem that I have. I worship the wrong gods. Sports. Food. Comfort. Pleasure. Myself. It’s not a matter of “fixing” these “issues” that I have, it’s a matter of shifting the focus of my worship. I used to think that Romans 1:25 (because they exchanged the truth about God for a lie and worshiped and served the creature rather than the Creator, who is blessed forever!) applied to people who actually sacrificed and actually bowed down to created idols. Well, I just learned something…I actually sacrifice and actually bow down to created idols. For me, my worship almost always goes to my pleasure and my comfort. If I want to eat, I eat. If I want to relax, I relax. If I want to watch tv, I watch tv. If something pops into my head that I know I should do, but I don’t want to do it because it’s hard or uncomfortable, I usually don’t do it. And a lot of times I come to the end of my day, and I wonder what I really accomplished that day. What did I do that REALLY mattered?

I really want to encourage everyone to listen to this sermon. It’s awesome, and I really think that it will impact everyone who listens to it. After you listen to it, let us know what you think. I’d love to hear how it affects everyone.

Share your thoughts